New Jersey is one of about a dozen states that has no fault laws relating to motor vehicle accidents and insurance. This means your sources for recovering damages from the accident are more limited. When a New Jersey driver gets into an accident, he or she must first seek to recover damages from his or her auto insurance policy. New Jersey drivers are legally required to carry auto insurance that insures themselves against damages and injuries resulting from an auto accident. There are a restricted number of situations -- in which certain statutory conditions must first be met -- when drivers are permitted to recover non-economic damages. If certain requirements are met, injured drivers may file a personal injury claim against the other driver for damages caused by the other driver's negligence.
New Jersey residents might be interested to learn about a new study looking into teenage driving distractions. Researchers at Oregon State University say that about 40 percent of teenagers who were surveyed admitted that they send or receive text messages while they drive. The findings are apparently positive, as some earlier studies had showed higher percentages.
Three people died because of a car accident on the New Jersey Turnpike on Jan. 22. The one-vehicle crash occurred at about 7:30 a.m. in the southbound lanes of the Turnpike near Cherry Hill Township.
Middlesex authorities report that a 24-year-old man is facing DWI charges after allegedly driving drunk and causing the death of another individual in a crash in Woodbridge on Oct. 19. The man's charges include driving while intoxicated and death by auto.
A three-vehicle accident on the New Jersey Turnpike resulted in the death of one man on June 13. The deceased car accident victim, a 45-year-old man, was a passenger in a car that was rear-ended at a tollbooth by another car. Police closed three toll lanes on the Turnpike for several hours after the accident in order to conduct their investigation.